The Aftermath

Weight: 160.4

I feel like I have been inching my way to the 150’s for a long time.  I feel like it has been forever since I have been below 160.

The reality is that if I had not nipped that bender in mid-ish Feb in the bud I would not be dreaming of the 150’s right now.  Instead I would have bounced back up the scales like usual.

What am I doing right these days?

-enjoying my food but keeping it relatively low carb, avoiding fruit (they actually don’t really appeal to me these days!), having very small portions of lentils and rice (the two carbs I can’t seem to shake lolz)

-lots of intermitten fasting.  no specific schedule but just really listening to my body about hunger.  If I’m not hungry I just don’t eat.  Easy enough to do with two small kids to keep up with (funny how they can be a hindrance or a help in my mind depending on my perspective)  Some days I have only one meal…most days I have 2 meals.

-exercising pretty regularly mainly coz I built exercise into my life by forcing my 3 and 5 year old to walk 20 minutes one way to drop off my oldest to school.   This is what makes sense for me regarding exercise…make it part of what you are doing in life anyway.  Bike/walk commute to work, go to the grocery store by walking, garden, cleaning the house intensely….the whole concept of working out as a separate activitiy is such a new one.  In times past, our lives were actual, physical work…and when the day was done you could rest.  I love walking.  Probably my highlight of every day is walking home after dropping off the oldest.  SO peaceful….there is a some push back from the kids regarding this walking regime(our next door neighbor drives her daughter to the same school)  But I stick with it for my health and theirs.  Walking is good for everyone!

-I’m also getting back to taking classes at the gym but I see them more as fun and some time out.  Not really to lose weight.  I’m grateful to have learned and developed that perspective.  In the last four days, I have been to a Zumba, Yoga Pilates and HIIT exercise classes.  Wonderful to have some time a few times of week for some constructive me time.

-learning about discipline and walking with God.  I think understanding that I am developing discipline has helped me so much in holding back from indulging when I feel depressed.  That was my downfall over and over again.  I would have some success and then wake up depressed and head to food for solace.  I am learning the discipline of faith during dark days and it is helping so much to trust in God’s presence even when I don’t necessarily ‘feel’ Him there.  What a powerful life lesson!

 

I may not have perfect routines in my life but there is a consistency which has meant that I am actually seeing some progress on the scales. That is so encouraging.

Another key point to note is that what I am doing is very sustainable and easy.  There is no white knuckling here.  If I am hungry…I get to eat and it is always delicious and lucious food….being such a foodie, I have to eat yummy food to stay the course.  I could see myself eating and moving this way for the rest of my life.  In fact, the foods I eat now are exactly what I would like to continue eating.  The only exception might be sweet, sweet chocolate/desserts in general.  However, I am not craving them which is an amazing thing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

