Random Thoughts on a Saturday

1.  Ain’t technology grand?  I am the luddite of luddites and yet I just figured out BY MYSELF (as in without asking anyone!!)  how to connect my husband’s ipad to the Mcdonald’s wifi….I KNOW it is not because I have become more savvy…they’ve dumbed things down and made them so intuitive these days that almost all you need to have is the ability to read to navigate stuff.  WOW!

2.  Am I just about the most arrogant lady in the world?  I went to two different puppet perfomances aimed at the preschool crowd this week.  (one of the presenters had a master’s degree in preschool drama (no, I didn’t know you could get one of those either)  During both I was mostly thinking how much better of a job I could do (along with enjoying watching the delight of my progeny – that was fun so obviously these presenters weren’t so bad).  And actually the masters lady’s handmade sets and props and puppets were darn impressive….I’m talking more about animation and the like, of their voices and singing.  Anyway, I had brief thoughts about becoming a children’s puppeteer (right after I learn how to spell that).  I could blow these people out of the water I’m pretty sure…I suspect there is no money in it but honestly what is holding me back is lazinesss (and two small rascals that I have comitted my life energy to caring for but I have been suspecting for quite a while that they are actually just my latest excuse)

3.  Strange phenomenon witnessed.  No matter how bad one’s childhood was, parents always cite said childhood as the reason for not giving or providing their child with something (there is an opposite side to this too which will be discussed at a later date as different dynamics are at play there).  E.g. “I didn’t have all those fancy clothes as a kid, so why should he?”  THe implication here is that I turned out fine therefore it must not be important to have fancy clothes.  Especially funny when the parent has known issues (as every parent usually does).  I find myself saying this often to my husband, even though we would both agree I am pretty emotionally disturbed haha. What I am trying to say is that no matter how crazy we are, most of us think that we are basically okay and want our kids to turn out like us for the most part.  When I really think about it, I want better for my kids (as I am sure most other parents do too) but I find myself resorting to the same logic….*sigh*  my poor kids

Leave a Reply

