Day 4 – FASTiNG

Now there was one, Anna, a prophetess, the daughter of Phanuel, of the tribe of Asher. She was of a great age, and had lived with a husband seven years from her virginity; and this woman was a widow of about eighty-four years, who did not depart from the temple, but served God with fastings and prayers night and day. And coming in that instant she gave thanks to the Lord, and spoke of Him to all those who looked for redemption in Jerusalem. — Luke 2:36-38 NKJV

 

To me fasting is a way of saying to God…”you are important to me than x or x or x”.  Thus like in the scripture above it is a way to serve God…to give glory to him.

I am ‘fasting’ from reading blogs that I usually frequent once a day.  These are my go to friends…especially after a long day and it is hard to stay away…I mean reading about these people’s lives really starts to make you feel like they are your friend (silly huh?)…and I am missing my friends.

BUT so far DAY 4 of the 60 day fast and going somewhat strong.  I say somewhat because I have been doing a lot of reading about child development (an area that just fascinates me!!)…It has not been blogs but still it is an escape?/obsession?/filler up of time that I did not want.  I want the space/time to just give to God so that (one like above I can just make clear He is more valuable than such things) but also two He can bring up whatever he wants.  I want some empty time and head space for some simple meditation on God’s words and ….simply nothing…so that I can wait, so that I can watch, so I can hear.

I wonder if I keep filling the space up because I am afraid?  Afraid that I won’t hear anything?  Afraid of the darkness inside of me that will be revealed and must be acknowledged?  I’m not sure.  I don’t think that is it…I mean I am just fascinated by this topic (I may even start a blog about it?? who knows)

I decided to make the rule that I would not start reading in other books until I first had some time to meditate on scripture.  Hopefully that is effective and will preserve the integrity of the fast…..

Leave a Reply

