Happy Birthday to me!

Hey it is my birthday sometime this month (apparently birthdate is one of the things people use for identity theft so I’m going to be paranoid and not reveal the exact date….hehe 🙂 so I thought I would wish myself, “Happy Birthday!”

Birthdays are one of those arbitrary dates in our calender like New Year’s Day or the first of the month or Monday’s where it can feel pyschologically like an opportunity for a fresh start or a time for reflection.  Resolutions can be made and begun – you have a convenient start date.  I’m not sure how valid such artificial start points are but for it certainly gives us a line in the sand so I’ll go with it…

I spent time considering what I want for my 3(cough)th bday.  More than anything?  Authenticity.  Honesty.  If I’m not focussing hard on this state of being and to be honest…well it has a butterfly-like elusiveness to it that finds me truly lost. 

How can you possibly relate sanely to a world with all its chaotic and twisted messages thrown at you incessantly if you don’t know who you are?  As I mature as a person, I realize more and more how important it is to be honest.  So that is what I will be working on this year.

Leave a Reply

