Why I should Blog

Today I read a piece on the internet about why someone should blog.  The author has clearly gained some personal growth and clarity in his life from writing and engaging with internet folk.  He recommended that everyone should try it with (surprisingingly) no caveat that one should only do it if one enjoys writing.  I guess part of his argument was that writing is an essential skill and practicing such a cornerstone of expression couldn’t help but improve you as a person (your thought patterns, your choices, your job opportunities…etc.)  Still, why not just a pen and journal as opposed to such an open forum as the internet?  I’ve detailed before the challenges to be honest with my thoughts balanced against my desire for privacy and the respect of others’ privacy. I suppose he would argue an audience does force one to accountability regarding quality which I can certainly attest to – I’ve ‘started’ many personal journals and was bored with my writing – I enjoy the thought of an invisible audience reading over my shoulders as I write.  It is strangely motivating and sharpens my thoughts and hence my writing.  I’m more ‘lazy’ when it is for ‘my eyes only’. 

It got me to thinking about this little blog of mine.  I am actually someone who would readily say that I enjoy writing even though I rarely do it – sadly.  That was the purpose of beginning this blog and that purpose continues to exist.

….and albiet a brief stint so far, it has been quite *quite* edifying.  I strongly  suspect that without this blog I would have still been caught up in a very bad relationship/non-relationship with an unhealthy indvidual.  Writing through those moments gave me some *MUCH* needed clarity….and I have never looked back.  Although I wasn’t blogging at the time, strangely enough, journalling had saved me previously  from an earlier relationship too.  (Moral of the story:  don’t stop writing or I’ll be in trouble! 🙂

I like the way the author (joshua from www.becomingminimalist.com) ends his post:  “Remember, you don’t need to blog as a means to get rich or as a means to gather a huge following. You don’t even need to blog as a means to change the Internet… the change that a blog will cause in your life is reason enough.” (emphasis mine)

Very true for me.

Leave a Reply

