The tales of the Habit continue

 35Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed.

-Mark 1:35

During the last 13 years of my Christianhood (can I call it that?), I have read the passage above easily over a million times (slight exaggerations are allowed even when speaking about scripture…hehe…;)  ANYWAY, despite reading so many times I never noticed how Jesus LEFT THE HOUSE.  That never struck me as it did last week as I read it again (for time number 1 mil and 1)…..Why did he leave the house?

Was he afraid of disturbing the others in the home?

Did he want to be alone?

Did he want a change of scenery?

Was he concerned he would fall back asleep if he stayed in the home? (like I frequently did!)

Who knows? It could have been any number of those reasons or something else you clever readers may come up with…the significance for me is simply that he did so….Setting an example that I wish I had noticed and followed a long time ago. 

It has been great getting out, alert and ready to face the day and starting it with scripture.  I even stepped out on Saturday morning, going to my office to have my time with God.  It is awesome to make that special, committed time with God happen consistently…I look forward to it and I am grateful for it.

(I wish I had not been so prideful all those years when others had suggested it….;)

Leave a Reply

