The habit and other things old…

Perhaps I’ve said this before, but I’ve always liked that saying….”The definition of crazy is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results”

Well!!… finally decided to do something different regarding my morning times with God to get a different result….The Man offered to help me get back on track in this most important dimension so I am meeting up with him every weekday morning (we work 2 blocks away from each other…isn’t that convenient?;) before work to read and study our Bibles (separately but at the same cafe).  Leaving the house gets me awake and alert, having to meet someone holds me accountable to keep doing it….Day 1 and I am really encouraged that I had a great Biblestudy and came into work with a good attitude!:)

What did I study?  Thought you’d never ask…:)  I have frequently described my life as a whirlwind recently and so this scripture blew me away;

They sow the wind and reap the whirlwind” Hosea 8:7

Why is my life a whirlwind?  Because I am sowing wind….the wind being a metaphor for impact-less, meaning-less STUFF.  I looked at passages in Ecclestaistes (2:3-5) about all the stuff that the great king Solomon did such as building houses and temples, pursuing pleasure…and at the end of it Solomon just says it was all meaningless….

So what can I ‘sow’ (invest in?) in life that is meaningful and will reap a better harvest (I’m tired of the whirlwind!)?  The Bible says simply sow righteousness and reap unfailing love (Hosea 10:12).  Also in Galatians (6:8) it speaks of sowing to please God’s Spirit to reap eternal life and in Galatians 5:22 the Bible makes a list of the things that one can reap (fruits of the Spirit)….love, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. (isn’t that just a list of all of our end goals…we just get confused by the stuff of life and start thinking that is the end goal….e.g. the reason people want the big house is because they think they will have peace/comfort, love (people’s admiration), etc….it is not really about the big house…just what they think they could get because of it…)

Anyway, thought I would end with…

Now all has been heard;  here is the conclusion of the matter, Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man.”  Ecc 12:13

Leave a Reply

