TMF – Jan14/2010 – 158.2

It is a little more than 1 week away from the ‘tight-bridesmaid-reckoning-day-extravaganza” (a.k.a the wedding), and I am pretty much where we began.  If I tell you that Christmas was rocky, winding, trecherous road chock-full of  luscious goodies, it would be true. 

What is also true is that that would be just another EXCUSE.

I once heard that you can either have a really good excuse (and honestly mine is pretty lame and overused anway)  OR you can have a really good story (“oh lookey me…I lost weight even through the holiday season…aren’t I just faboo?”)

…and yeah, having been there, done that and bought the T-shirt on good excuses as to why I’m NOT following through on desired changes in my life…I’m sick and tired of excuses.  At the end of the day, there is no excuse.  If I cling to my excuses, then I cannot take responsibility/ownership for changing the problem.  If something external is the problem (such as Auntie Mae’s* delicious snickerdoodles**), then of course I don’t have to change because I’m not the problem.

Helping my relative Anita through her financial issues is really bringing this truth home to me in a huge way.  The woman is forever making one excuse after another to me about why she needs to spend money. On justifying her need to buy new pants for work, “I wouldn’t be caught dead in used clothes, gross!”  …when I tell her that that is honestly all she can afford (quite frankly, not even that).  Every dollar counts, the same way that every calorie taken in and expended counts.

….so I can either choose to take responsibility or not…it always was, always is and always will be MY CHOICE. 

 *Please note I don’t have an Auntie Mae..but I always wanted one, who would stay in the kitchen and bake delicious concotions…on second thought, yeah maybe it is better Auntie Mae stays a figment of my overactive imagination

**snickerdoodles are a real cookie of some sort that I am dying to try just cause the name itself sound delish…yeah on second thought, maybe not…:)

2 responses to “TMF – Jan14/2010 – 158.2

  1. WARNING: Walk away from the Snickerdooles!!!

    They’re my favorite cookie in the world. I won’t go into a description because even thinking about them makes me crazy.

    About choices….you absolutely right on about that, it’s all about choices. The choices is totally ours to make. We can take the high road or the low road. You already know which one is the right one, and of course, it’s the more difficult one to travel. 🙂

    Sounds like you’re ready to get back on track….just stay away from the Snickerdoodles. I’m turning my brain off right now!

    • Thanks Diana….I have a friend who swears never to try new desserts just so she wouldn’t have ANOTHER thing to crave later….I will take your advice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

