Think about such things

I stopped watching horror movies because I am SUCH a scaredy cat and a friend once suggested that they introduce the ‘spirit of fear’ into our lives….not very sure about the latter but abstain I have for a number of years.  

Recently, I watched a scary movie (against my better judgement).  Predictably, I literally had to have my cousins sleep over the first night.   the next night I barely slept a wink.  The third night I invited myself over to a friend’s to sleep and yesterday (night 4!!) I slept fitfully on my couch with lights on dim. 

Yeah…talk about a wimp….!  🙂 

Brendan Manning (of “Ragamuffin Gospel” fame) once wrote, “the one thing we owe absolutely to God is never to fear.”  (e.g. impossible to please God without faith) I know this is meant in a deeper sense about more heart issues but I think it also applies to the ‘i’m scared of monsters under my couch’ stuff too.  Boy, am I challenged!! Through these last couple of days my faith in there being a God who is protecting me and will only allow into my life what He intends for good has been stretched…. 

As I struggled, I realized one thing I needed to do was not allow my thoughts to dwell on the images I had seen from the movie…not even to let them crack into my conciousness…if Ididn’t think the stuff then I was not afraid.   I worked very hard to focus on good things and to literally squash other thoughts (which brings up a tangent….I feel SO bad for men fighting for purity in this world…being so visual how do they process all the excess flesh that is constantly being thrown into their face by the media…wow…I respect you guys who fight that fight so much!)  

….but I digress, I realized throught this struggle how true it is that the most important battles are won or lost in our mind.  If I don’t allow my mind to think about chocolate or candy bar right now then I will not struggle with wanting one later.  In the same way, my fear is not fanned into flame if I do not entertain the scary images I saw.  

So my theme scripture for the year 2010; (drum roll please) 

Philippians 4:8 

 8Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Leave a Reply

