The green eyed monster…

I recently heard that a dear guy friend in another city started dating someone quite seriously.  While I was excited for him….(hate admitting the next part!), I was really bummed out by the news.  I just felt blah for awhile and I had to consider why…

Did I like him in ‘that’ way?  No…not really.  I had always thought he was cute but having considered it briefly never thought that we really ‘clicked’ or had chemistry.

I guess it just boils down to jealousy….argh!  He’s considerably younger than me and it just causes me to feel that life has passed me by or something.  I mean if even he is dating, then I must definitely be on the shelf, expiring with the SPAM..;)..Also, I’m jealous of his girlfriend and her ability to capture someone’s attention.  Honestly, as I write it out it seems a little bit looney and completely irrational…but hey…that’s emotions sometimes!

I took some time today to just pray through the feelings..reaffirming to God that I have faith in Him…that I do not live by SIGHT…but by FAITH….and that I trust His provision in my life.  That helped….:)

Furthermore, I think it is important to not dwell on such thoughts.  The mind is a battlefield and I will “take captive every thought and make it obedient to Christ”….(2nd Corinthians 10:5)

Leave a Reply

