Your Shield

After this, the word of the LORD came to Abram in a vision:
       “Do not be afraid, Abram.
       I am your shield, [a]

At the Christian conference I went to over the weekend, one the speakers discussed the fact that God is our shield.  Specifically he made the point that we would not be able to experience God as our shield if we never took risks in our life and constantly played it safe.  Staying in our apartments watching reality TV all week is not a life requiring a shield.  Shields are only necessary when one is in embarking upon battle.

This point really resonated with me as that is an important reason why I started this blog.  Christians should be the biggest risk takers out there because they place their trust in an Almighty and All powerful God of the Universe.  Now, I’m not suggesting being stupid or crazy…but I am talking about all the stuff that we would like to do but the big F word (calm your pulses….FEAR…:) stops us from doing. 

I’ve led a pretty conservative life thus far and  Christians have that rep of being conservative…why should it be this way?  We should be leading the pack in courageous, noble and raise-our-game acts. 

I have many more regrets about things I DID NOT do then the things I DID do…even if the latter ended up in failure.  I will share with you next week a list of things that I would do if I was not fearful/lazy (often being afraid is just an excuse for not wanting to exert effort – at least for me…)

To live a life with no regrets, requires a lot of courage…and a good shield…:)

Leave a Reply

