A parent’s love

This weekend I was babysitting two little girls.  When the parents came home I reported all the interactions the girls and I had had throughout the night.  The look of excitement, pride, mixed with joy these people had on their faces was too cute.  Their faces were literally shining!…..I mean I’m telling them that their child had a considerable sized bowel movement (gross!) and they hung onto my words like I was revealing the meaning of life…:)

Another parent I know has a 13 month old daughter and a 13 year old daughter.  She told me that when she sees one of her daughters, her heart just bursts – that they live, they breath, they move is enough to fill her with joy.  She puts her baby’s foot in her mouth all the time and she says if she could, she would do the same to her teenager…(I guess the more you love someone, the more you want to eat their foot!?!…go figure…{shoulder shrug}….) 

The parent-child relationship always fascinates me.  Witnessing the joy, tenderness and unguarded unconditional favour that passes between parent to child is so touching in our often cold and ‘walls-up’ adult world.  Perhaps it is because I have never loved anything to that extent and with such devotion.  

My curiousity is sharpened knowing that God specifically chooses to characterize his relationship with us as parent-child….Jesus says to refer to God as “Abba” (“father” in Aramaic).  Watching and listening to these parents (who are mere sinners as we all are) gives me an inkling of how much in love God is in with me….this is how he views me?  When he sees me, His eyes soften, He can’t help but smile, he gets excited by the fact that I blink my eyes?  

That makes me smile.

 Isaiah 49:15“Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you!

Leave a Reply

