In the beginning…

It has been my dream to start a blog for a long time.  Why?  Because I think I’m super interesting and have a unique perspective (check!)….Because I want to inspire people to risk taking in their relationship with God? (check!)…Because I have a lot to say (check!)…Because I like writing (check!) Because I’m quite the emotional exhibitionist (heck yeah check!). 

Now a couple of these are only going to work if people actually read this blog (e.g. exhibitionism gets really dry really fast with no audience…hehe).  Strategizing to instantly whip up an undyingly loyal readership kept me from starting for a month…even after my super talented and supportive friend “Phen” (names have been changed to protect the innocent) set the gig up for me.

There I was squaring off with my life-long demon, Paula Perfectionist (one of the few ‘take-aways’  from my brief stint in therapy was naming  She-whom-I-was-not-consciously-aware-of-and-who-keeps-me-frozen), and realized that I could just start and worry about the details later.  Revolutionary, I know, I know.

Ultimately, I’m writing for me.   The one thing I seek to do is tell the truth; about my life and who I am.  Undoubtedly, it will be a journey of discovery as opposed to a simple unveiling.  I strongly believe God wants us to live lives of adventure so as I explore, I will also be redefining, refining, reworking that truth about me… 

…and TRUTH is always compelling.

One response to “In the beginning…

  1. I wish I was “Phen” – he or she seems like they were really smart enough to recognize what a gem you are. Thanks for all the Thursday lunch dates of hypotheses over what could be and hyperventilation over what should not have been! hehehe

Leave a Reply

